Anali Martinez

  Photography by    Diana Ascarrunz

Photography by Diana Ascarrunz

Tell us about yourself. Include where you’re from, what you do, how you’re thriving and anything else everyone should know about you.

My name is Anali Martinez. I am 27 years old and I am originally from Del Rio, TX. I moved to Austin, TX 10 years ago to attend The University of Texas at Austin. I graduated in May 2012 with my B.S. in Civil Engineering. I am now a graduate engineer at MWM DesignGroup in Austin, TX. I also have a lifestyle blog called The Nueva Latina, where I blog about my personal thoughts and experiences as a Latina living in the United States. I am getting married this November to the love of my life and I am pretty excited about it. We live together in Round Rock, TX with our pup, El Chapo.

Anali Martinez

How do you identify culturally?

I identify myself as a Latina or Mexican-American or Mexican. It all depends on the situation.

How does your cultural background inform your thinking and sense of being in the world? How has it informed past decisions, successes, failures?

Growing up with Mexican parents in a border town with a majority “Hispanic” population had me a little sheltered. When I made the move to Austin, I had major culture shock. But it also helped me become extremely knowledgeable and proud of my heritage and where my family comes from.

What inspires you and who do you look up to?

My parents. They both immigrated to the United States from Mexico and worked hard to achieve everything they have today. They are legit the epitome of the American Dream. My dad now has his own civil engineering firm in Del Rio and my mom is the President/CEO of a credit union in Del Rio.

What is your best piece of advice to anyone who may be struggling?

Eventually, it does get better. It may not seem like it right now, but it will.

What are your future goals and aspirations?

I want to become a Professional Engineer in the next two years. I also want to transform my lifestyle blog into a lifestyle brand and eventually turn it into a social media service for small businesses in small communities with a majority “Hispanic” population. Personally, I just want to be the best wife, sister, daughter, and friend. That is something that is a continuing goal for me.

Anali Martinez

Share one thing people should know about the Latinx community?

We are all very, very different. My fiance is Colombian, and when people compare being Mexican with being Colombian or vice-versa, there are always some things we can agree on, but not everything. Everyone’s experience as a Latinx is different.

What is your favorite Latinx driven project and why is it your favorite?

Sew Bonita. Elena Flores started the company and brand with her husband out of Corpus Christi, TX. Elena is such a badass because she had an idea and ran with it.

Where can people find you on the internet?